Welcome to Chandra Ma Wellness, where holistic wisdom meets heartfelt experience.

Explore the healing wisdom of Ayurveda & learn to live a more balanced life.



If you missed it on the {about} page, Ayurveda is the science of longevity; the wisdom to live well. 'AYUR’ means life and ‘VEDA’ means. knowledge or truth.  This ancient Indian art of holistic medicine emphasizes balance among the five elements {earth-water-fire-air-ether} as they manifest inside the body.  Not only does Ayurveda focus on healing through natural practices, but also through prevention.

Ayurveda is about finding balance so that we can find ourselves.

Ok, so now we know that this time-tested science is based on a system of the elements (earth, water, fire, air & space).  The ancient Vedic texts tell us that each individual person is made of a unique ratio of these elements.  The ratio that you are born with is your prakruti.  This is where your body is most at peace.  Prakruti is used to describe the original elemental (or doshic) combination that formulates your mental and physical qualities, as well as the functional habits of your individual personality.  Most of us have one or two dominant doshas that are most likely to become elevated and cause imbalance.  Vikruti is used to measure your current state of imbalance, bringing awareness to how disease, physical discomfort and emotional unrest manifest in the body.  By comparing your prakruti to your vikruti, we can see which doshas are elevated and use the principle of opposites to restore balance.  The Universe is a manifestation of opposites; feminine/masculine, cold/hot, love/fear, etc.  Ayurveda works to pair these opposites and encourage balance.  By applying the opposing qualities to your most imbalanced dosha, we can bring it back into harmony.

The qualities used to describe the doshas are called gunas.  By observing the gunas of vata, pitta and kapha, we can deepen our understanding of how to apply the principle of opposites to our own experience.

VATA {air + space} GUNAS

--> Cold, dry, light, rough, subtle, mobile & clear


PITTA {fire + water} GUNAS

--> Hot, sharp, light, liquid, oily & spreading


KAPHA {water + earth} GUNAS

--> Cool, moist, heavy, slow, oily, slimy, dense, soft, static, cloudy & gross


Those who experience an imbalance or excess of a particular dosha will find comfort in engaging with the qualities opposite to that doshas.  A vata-dominant person will benefit from: warm, moist, heavy, smooth, gross, static and cloudy qualities. This may come in the form of embracing the stillness of meditation to calm a busy mind, or drinking a warm & spicy chai latte.  A pitta-dominant person will benefit from: cool, heavy, dry and rough qualities.  Such balancing activities might include eating a cooling cucumber or sipping on rose tea.  A kapha-dominant person will benefit from: warm, dry, light, rough, scrapping, mobile, clear and subtle qualities.  Appropriate use of these kapha-balancing gunas could be, consuming well-cooked leafy greens seasoned with warming spices such cumin or an effort to combat slow heaviness by going for a light jog.

Remember, while prakruti represents one’s original state, vikruti represents the present state of imbalances and therefore, is subject to slight variation.  Prakruti, on the other hand, never changes.  When experiencing optimal health, prakruti and vikruti exist in equivalent proportions.  If you would like to learn more about balancing doshas, consider The Six Tastes of Ayurveda.


Fundamental Principals of Ayurveda

by Dr. Vasant Lad